Intervarsity T20 Crcket: ANU vs UC

Event Date: 
Thursday, 9 March 2017 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Oval

Intervarsity Cricket vs UC 2017


The inaugural Intervarsity Women's Cricket match between ANU and UC kicked off with aplomb this morning after ANU won the toss and sent UC in to bat. Some prolific batting from UC openers Amy and captain Claire had UC 0/33 after 5 overs. Some great bowling from ANU's Maya Harrington meant UC were restricted to a score of 3/86. With many beginners playing their first ever cricket game for ANU, it was an impressive performance in the field. With a chase on their hands, ANU got off to a good start with openers Mary Waters and Maya Harrington getting the home side to 20 runs after 5 overs. However, some tight bowling and excellent fielding pressure meant UC were able to restrict ANU to a score of 0/41. Congratulations to UC on winning the inaugural intervarsity women's game and ANU are looking forward to many more like it in the future!


Despite losing captain Rhys Healy in the first over, ANU got off to great start, thanks to a 40 run partnership between Liam Jenkins and Brandon Smith taking the score to 1/48 off 7. However, two wickets in two balls turned the game on its head and some tight UC bowling restricted ANU to 5-113 on a low bouncing wicket. Praveen Mathai was the best with the bat, scoring an unbeaten 29.
With some tight bowling required, ANU started perfectly with the ball, restricting UC to a maiden in the first over and a meagre 12 runs after 4 overs. However, some excellent batting from UC opener J Pravan with an unbeaten 61 guided UC home.
A great day for both universities, showing that activity through sporting endeavours provides a welcome break from the demands of academic life and promotes the development of the well-rounded student!